Sunday, September 19, 2010

Electric Swan - Electric Swan

Year of release: 2008
Genre: Hard Rock/Psychedelic Rock
Country: Italy

01. In The Hush Of Daze
02. Electric Swan
03. Your Love Been So Good To Me
04. Eleventh Angel
05. Beyond The Rising Sun
06. Calibro
07. Crossing The Line
08. Redwitch
09. Teaser (Tommy Bolin Cover)
10. Apollo's Dream
11. Creeping Death (Metallica Cover)

In a few words:

Electric Swan is the project of Lucio Calegari guitarist of Wicked Minds. Good "retro" hard rock with a lot of psychedelic and some progressive influences, that's the case here. An album that could easily have been released at early 70's and make success. The guitar work is quite remarkable with a lot of riffs and solos, the keys fill the sound appropriately and the rhythm section is robust. The vocals fit in with the music, giving the necessary 70's feeling to the songs. The album contains also two covers, which have been adopted to the style of the band. Especially the "Creeping Death" from a thrash anthem has become a hard rock dynamite. All in all, if you like 70's hard rock and bands like UFO, Deep Purple, Jimi Hendrix, Frank Marino etc, you will enjoy it.

Personal highlights:
"Electric Swan", "Beyond The Rising Sun" and "Apollo's Dream"


akis said...

Thanx for all the great stuff!
Keep rockin' & bloggin'!