Sunday, November 14, 2010

Rykarda Parasol - Our Hearts First Meet

Year of release: 2006
Genre: Folk/Dark Rock
Country: U.S.A.

01. Good Sick
02. Hannah Leah
03. Night On Red River
04. Lullaby For Blacktail
05. Weeding Time
06. Arrival, A Rival
07. Candy Gold
08. Good Fall
09. How Does A Woman Fall?
10. En Route
11. Lonesome Place
12. Texas Midnight Radio
13. Weeding
14. Good Sick II
15. Janis, Don't Go Back

In a few words:
Rykarda Parasol is an American artist who composes some very beautiful folk/rock songs. "Our Hearts First Meet" is her debut album, which was released at 2006. All the songs have a dark atmosphere, while her music is very difficult to be fallen into a specific genre. So, in order to describe her music I would like to refer some similar artists: Nick Cave, Madrugada, Johnny Cash, Velvet Underground and P.J. Harvey could be some of her influences. Her voice is quite good, with a lot of feeling. Most of the lyrics are taken from her personal life. Acoustic guitars and piano are the instruments that are mostly used in her songs, creating emotional melodies that go directly to the listener's heart. Recommended!

Personal highlights:
"Lullaby For Blacktail", "Candy Gold" and "Weeding"