Sunday, December 19, 2010

Andy Timmons Band - Resolution

Year of release: 2006
Genre: Instrumental Rock/Guitar Virtuoso
Country: U.S.A.

01. Deliver Us
02. Helipad
03. Ghost Of You
04. Resolution
05. Redemption
06. Lydia
07. Gone (9/11/01)
08. Move On
09. Beware Dark Days
10. The Prayer/The Answer
11. Headed For The Ditch (Bonus track)

In a few words:
A lot of time has past since I proposed a guitar-oriented album. So, here we have the collaboration of Andy Timmons, Mike Daane (on bass) and Mitch Marine (on drums). Due to his previous experience with Danger Danger, Andy knows how to write catchy melodies and easy to remember songs, even without words. He is a complete musician and songwriter, while the rhythm section successfully supports every guitar note. Similar guitarists that I can think of are Stevie Vai and Joe Satriani - but don't be confused, Andy has his own style, which is quite emotional and with good guitar phrasing. The band's technique is beyond criticism, and it serves the compositions - not the opposite. There is a lot of variety in the songs, from hard rock/metal instrumentals to more jazzy songs, which expanding the listener's attention.

Personal highlights:
"Deliver Us", "Resolution" and "Gone (9/11/01)"