Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Agalloch - Ashes Against The Grain

Year of release: 2006
Genre: Atmospheric/Post Black Metal
Country: U.S.A.

01. Limbs
02. Falling Snow
03. This White Mountain on Which You Will Die
04. Fire Above, Ice Below
05. Not Unlike the Waves
06. Our Fortress Is Burning... I
07. Our Fortress Is Burning... II - Bloodbirds
08. Our Fortress Is Burning... III - The Grain

In a few words:
This album can be described as a mix of black metal and post rock. Unlike "The Mantle" (which was more folk-ish but still wonderful album), "Ashes.." has more black metal ingredients. But it is not a conventional black metal album. There are a lot of post rock melodies in the album, which make the songs more interesting and maybe more accessible to non-black metal fans. The band has without doubt its own style, which is very interesting and very dark/melancholic.

Personal highlights:
" Limbs", "Fire Above, Ice Below" and "Bloodbirds"