Thursday, May 20, 2010

Yngwie Malmsteen - Concerto Suite For Electric Guitar And Orchestra In E Flat Minor Opus 1

Year of release: 1998
Genre: Neo-classical
Country: Sweden

01. Icarus Dream Fanfare
02. Cavallino Rampante
03. Fugue
04. Prelude to April
05. Toccata
06. Andante
07. Sarabande
08. Allegro
09. Adagio
10. Vivace
11. Presto Vivace
12. Finale

In a few words:

In this album the great Swedish guitarist makes his dream true. He composed and arranged a suite for both orchestra and electric guitar. There is no "first violin" here, just Yngwie's white Stratocaster. Similar to the Roth case, the collaboration between rock (Malmsteen) and classical music (Prague Symphonic Orchestra) is simply amazing. It is like Paganini playing an electric guitar. The suite is quite interesting as a composition, with all the characteristics of classical music. So, if you enjoy classical music or you like guitar virtuosos , then this album is appropriate for you. Yngwie has played this album live (but with New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra) in Tokyo, back in 2001.

Personal highlights:
The suite should be listened as a whole...