Friday, May 13, 2011

Leviathan - Scoring The Chapters

Year of release: 1997
Genre: Progressive Metal
Country: U.S.A.

01. Salvation
02. Friends Imaginary
03. Paying The Toll
04. The Door
05. J. Christopher's Haunting
06. If These Walls Could Talk
07. All Sins Returned
08. Scar Barrow's Fare
09. The Last King Of The Highlands
10. Born Unto (But Don't Belong to Me)
11. Leftist Out
12. Turning Up Broken
13. Failing Avalon
14. Apologies Wanting To Make Good
15. Legacy Departing

In a few words:
Another underrated band is presented here. The third album of this American band is a masterpiece of technical (but also lyrical) progressive metal. This album is an ideal mix of two progressive sides: the "emotional side", with groups like Fates Warning and Queensryche and the "technical side" with bands like Dream Theater and Rush. The result is a unique sound, quite dark, but also very emotional. To the above description, add a great voice and some interesting lyrics and you have an idea of how the album sounds. There are a lot of intros and interludes that creating a continuity in the album flow, that's why I suggest you to listen to it as a whole. The band broke up at 1998, but almost 10 years later they re-united and earlier this year they released their fourth album called "At Long Last, Progress Stopped To Follow".

Personal highlights:
"If These Walls Could Talk", "Turning Up Broken" and "Legacy Departing"