Saturday, April 14, 2012

The Burning Paris - Half Truths & Indiscretions

Year of release: 2006
Genre: Experimental/Post Rock
Country: U.S.A.

01. In Ruins
02. Building My Own Coffin
03. Tonight, I’Ll Expire
04. Silver Trees
05. Colder
06. Winter Street In Winter
07. Hemlock
08. Olympia
09. Let’s Watch The World Collapse
10. Broken Days
11. The Sun Also Rises
12. Coral City Ruin
13. Asleep
14. Whitlock

In a few words:
“Half-Truths & Indiscretions” is a completion album that contains the songs from two EPs (“Coral City Ruin” and “And By December You Will Know Where Your Heart Truly Lies”), as well as other unreleased tracks. All songs were composed between 2000 and 2004. After the band’s split-up, most of the members continue to compose music, but with other projects (Eksi Ekso, Thee Electric Bastards, The Living Sea, Blythe Hollow, The Fatal Flaw, The Octave Museum and others). The music of The Burning Paris could be described as post rock with a lot of melodies. The long structures, the layers of guitar and keyboard in each song, plus the use of cello are some of the typical characteristics of their sound. The voice of Nate Shumaker gives the necessary feeling to the songs. Half-Truths & Indiscretions has a dark atmosphere, but is also a quite relaxing album - suitable for night listening...

Personal highlights: 
"In Ruins", "Let’s Watch The World Collapse" and "Coral City Ruin"