Monday, June 25, 2012

Seabear - The Ghost That Carried Us Away

Year of release: 2007
Genre: Folk/Alternative/Indie Rock
Country: Iceland

01. Good Morning Scarecrow
02. Cat Piano
03. Libraries
04. Hospital Bed
05. Hands Remember
06. I Sing I Swim
07. Owl Waltz
08. Arms
09. Sailors Blue
10. Lost Watch
11. Summer Bird Diamond
12. Seashell

In a few words:
Well, I am in a summer mood again, so, I decided to present another album that is suitable for hot summer nights, when you laying at the beach, beside the blue sea. Let's start with the typical part: Seabear is an indie/folk band from Reykjavik (Iceland) and this is their first full length album. They actually started as one-man project at 2003 and gradually ended up as seven piece band in 2006. Acoustic and electric guitars, piano, violin, harmonica, trumpet, bass and drums are so harmonically combined that creating a relaxed atmosphere capable to transfer your mind far beyond (to a beautiful beach maybe). Both male and female vocals are warm and beautiful, as well as the lyrics of the songs. Their music could be described as a happier version of another great Icelandic band called Rökkurró.

Personal highlights: 
"Cat Piano", "Hospital Bed" and "Sailors Blue"