Monday, April 5, 2010

Captain Beyond - Captain Beyond

Year of release: 1972
Genre: Progressive Rock/Heavy Rock
Country: U.S.A.

01. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
02. Armworth
03. Myopic Void
04. Mesmerization Eclipse
05. Raging River Of Fear
06. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Intro)
07. Frozen Over
08. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Time Since Come And Gone)
09. I Can't Feel Nothin', Pt. 1
10. As The Moon Speaks (To The Waves Of The Sea)
11. Astral Lady
12. As The Moon Speaks (Return)
13. I Can't Feel Nothin', Pt. 2

In a few words:
Do you like groups like Monster Magnet? Do you like also 70's progressive rock? If the answer to both questions is yes, then this album is perfect for you. This is the first album of a band with former members of Iron Butterfly, Deep Purple and Johnny Winter (an early super-group we could say), that could also be the ancestor of Monster Magnet (although MM's sound is harder than CP). So, catchy riffs, good solos, progressive attitude and a nice voice are the main components of this forgotten jewel. In brief, this album definitely ROCKS!

Personal highlights:
"Mesmerization Eclipse", "Raging River Of Fear" and "Thousand Days Of Yesterdays"