Monday, July 19, 2010

George Winston - Forest

Year of release: 1994
Genre: Piano
Country: U.S.A.

01. Tamarack Pines
02. Forbidden Forest
03. Troubador
04. The Cradle
05. Cloudy This Morning
06. Last Lullaby Here
07. Mon Enfant (My Child)
08. Returning
09. Graceful Ghost
10. Walking in the Air
11. Building the Snowman
12. The Snowman's Music Box Dance
13. Love Song to a Ballerina
14. Lights in the Sky
15. Japanese Music Box (Itsuki No Komoriuta)
16. Night Sky

In a few words:
Similar to the Jarrett case, here we have the sixth solo piano album by the pianist George Winston. As you might expect, there is no other instrument here, just a piano. And believe me, there is no need for something else. Beautiful melodies, emotional playing and a melancholic feeling is all over the album. Winston's playing has the charisma to makes you relax. He doesn't emphasizes on technique, but only on emotions. This album is another personal favorite for night listening. After a busy day (at work/at school or whatever), put it to your player, sit down and leave the rest to Mr. Winston. :-)

Personal highlights:
"All of it!"