Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Oh Johnny...

Year of release: 2000
Genre: Country/Folk
Country: U.S.A.

01. I Wont Back Down (Original by Tom Perry)
02. Solitary Man (Original by Neil Diamond)
03. That Lucky Old Sun (Original by Frankie Laine)
04. One (Original by U2)
05. Nobody (Original by Egbert Williams)
06. I See A Darkness (Original by Will Oldham)
07. The Mercy Seat (Original by Nick Cave)
08. Would You Lay With Me (In A Field Of Stone) (Original by Tanya Tucker)
09. Field Of Diamonds
10. Before My Time
11. Country Trash
12. Mary Of The Wild Moor (Original by The Louvin Brothers)
13. I'm Leavin' Now
14. Wayfaring Stranger (Traditional)

In a few words:
What a voice! Heavy as a rock, dark as the night but also emotive and beautiful. This is Johnny Cash. A "real rock star". This album can be considered as a cover album, since most of the songs are covers. Two guitars and the deep emotive voice of Johnny constitute the main characteristics of this album. The covers are so great that you hardly believe that they are cover songs, but original compositions. Favorite cover: I could easily peak "I See A Darkness" for its pessimistic feeling, dark atmosphere and its lyrics. Please, don't listen to this album when you are in a bad mood. It can makes you collapse...

Personal highlights:
"All this dark beauty!"