Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Haggard - And Thou Shalt Trust... The Seer

Year of release: 1997
Genre: Symphonic Metal
Country: Germany

01. The Day As Heaven Wept
02. Origin Of A Crystal Soul
03. Requiem In D-Minor
04. In A Pale Moon’s Shadow
05. Cantus Firmus In A-Minor
06. De La Mort Noire
07. Lost (Robin’ Song)
08. A Midnight Gathering

In a few words:
Since we entered autumn, I decided to continue the tradition of the previous two years and post an atmospheric album. “And Thou Shalt Trust... The Seer” is the debut album of Haggard that was released 15 years ago (1997). I remember that the first time that I listened to this album (it was around 2000) I was quite astonished. The mix of medieval with (death) metal music was quite strange to my ears; I hadn’t heard something like this before. Even Therion and Lacrimosa were quite different from Haggard. However, the result is not “Frankenstein”, but an album that balances between beautiful medieval melodies and death metal riffs. You will hear distorted guitars, bass, and drums along with choirs, violins, cello, flute, oboe, piano as well as other forgotten instruments even at the same song. There is also variety in voices, from soprano and tenor vocals to Asis Nasseri’s death metal growls. Even the structure and the songwriting are quite different from the typical metal songs ; they resemble to classical compositions. Although ” ... The Seer”  is rawer than Haggard’s later albums, still remains my favorite from this unique band.

Personal highlights:
“Origin Of A Crystal Soul”, “In A Pale Moon’s Shadow” and "De La Mort Noire”