Saturday, February 28, 2009

Steve Vai

Year of release: 1996
Genre: Rock/Metal/Guitar Virtuoso
Country: U.S.A.

01. There's A Fire In The House
02. Crying Machine
03. Dyin' Day
04. Whookam
05. Blowfish
06. Mysterious Murder Of Christian Tiera's Lover
07. Hand On Heart
08. Bangkok
09. Fire Garden Suite
10. Deepness
11. Little Alligator
12. All About Eve
13. Aching Hunger
14. Brother
15. Damn You
16. When I Was A Little Boy
17. Genocide
18. Warm Regards

In a few words:
You know him as a great guitarist. Here is one of his best albums. Personally, "The Crying Machine" is one of the songs that I am listening to a lot lately. Of course and the other songs are remarkable too.


Greg Cameron said...

Steve Vai's "Fire Garden" is, for my money, the quintessential Steve Vai album. While Steve shows off plenty of technique to appease the Guitar World technique freaks, his soloing here is always informed by its emotional content - an implicit rebuke to those who would dismiss him as a 'soul-less technician.' Listen to the meltingly lovely "Warm Regards" - just beautiful. The songs here are the strongest Steve has penned. Although some might dismiss his humourous songs as Zappa-esque, I think Vai finds his own humourous voice here. Of course, the Narrative Voice interconnecting the songs will automatically put one in the mind of the Central Scrutinizer. However, while the Narrative Voice in 'Joe's Garage' scrutinizes the world at large, the Narrative Voice here invites you into his world for extended scrutiny. I suppose some tip-of-the-hat to Zappa is inevitable. At the end, the Narrative Voice informs us,"Life is good." Hmmmm. Not so sure about that one, Steve...but, hey, this CD sure is wonderful. Warm regards, Steve. I think this CD is central to an aesthetic understanding of Steve Vai. If the name 'Steve Vai' means anything to you, investigate by all means...Greg Cameron, Surrey, B.C., Canada

Strange Taste In Music said...

Nice review Greg. I agree with you. It is a really good album.... Vai at his best...

Thank you for your review. I always want to see what is your opinion about the albums that I upload.

Thank you! ;-)

bobbysu said...

thank you so much

Strange Taste In Music said...

You 're welcome my friend... :-)