Friday, August 5, 2011

Blazing Eternity - A World To Drown In

Year of release: 2003
Genre: Gothic Rock/Metal
Country: Denmark

01. Cover Me With Your Eyes
02. To Meet You In Those Dreams
03. A World To Drown In
04. Stars In July
05. (Don't) Tell The World
06. Procession
07. En Nat Bliver Det Sommer
08. Monument
09. White

In a few words:
Blazing Eternity is a Danish band from Copenhagen and "A World To Drown In" is their second and probably their last album (they have released nothing since this album). The band started as an extreme metal band, but through the years they get rid of the extreme elements from their music and they incorporated a more melodic rock-oriented sound. In this album they balance between gothic rock and metal, while they have composed a lot of beautiful melodies. The album is quite atmospheric, melancholic and emotional. The guitars shift from heavy riffs to acoustic chords progression, enhancing the emotional change that takes place through the songs. The rhythm section is good and the singer has a very nice "emotional" voice. Influences: from Finnish gothic metal bands till even Smiths. It is a very beautiful album, so give it a try...

Personal highlights: 
"To Meet You In Those Dreams", "Stars In July" and "En Nat Bliver Det Sommer"