Monday, December 14, 2009

Guthrie Govan - Erotic Cakes

Year of release: 2006
Genre: Instrumental/Fusion/Guitar Virtuoso
Country: U.K.

01. Waves
02. Erotic Cakes
03. Wonderful Slippery Thing
04. Ner Ner
05. Fives
06. Uncle Skunk
07. Sevens
08. Eric
09. Slidey Boy
10. Rhode Island Shred
11. Hangover

In a few words:
If you consider that solo guitar albums albums are boring it's time to change your mind! The debut album of this great guitarist is full of melodies, nice song-structures and of course a lot of technique. Technique that only serves the songs not choking them with flat exhibitionism (the major problem of many guitar-oriented albums).

Personal highlights:
"Ner Ner", "Sevens" and "Slidey Boy"