Sunday, January 24, 2010

Giant - Time To Burn

Year of release: 1991
Genre: Melodic Hard Rock
Country: U.S.A.

01. Thunder And Lightning
02. Chained
03. Lay It On The Line
04. Stay
05. Lost In Paradise
06. Smoulder
07. Time To Burn
08. I'll Be There (When It's Over)
09. Save Me Tonight
10. Without You
11. Now Until Forever
12. Get Used To It

In a few words:
Another band that deserved more success is presented here. Although some hit-singles were played on the radio (like "Stay" from this album, or "I'll See You In My Dreams" from their debut), Giant disappeared from the music map for many years after this album. The band is actually based on Dann Huff, who is a well-known guitarist, vocalist and producer (see here for more information about him). The album contains 11 songs (plus an intro, the "Smoulder") of well-played melodic hard rock. Interesting guitar riffs and melodies, excellent solos and a lot of feeling in the vocals. This year they released a new album, which called "Promise Land" after 9 years from "III" in 2001 (they have released 4 albums until now). All of their albums are worth-listening.

Personal highlights:
"Stay", "Lost In Paradise" and "Save Me Tonight"